National Library Advisory Council.—1960. Jan. 8, John S. Russell, Winnipeg, Man.; Dr. Seraphin Marion, Ottawa, Ont.; and Mrs. Donald E. Lidstone, Summerside, P.E.I.: to be members for a term of four years from Jan. 1, 1960.

National Parole Board.—1960. Aug. 12, Mary Louise Lynch, a member of the New Brunswick Bar, Saint John, N.B.: to be a member for a term of ten years from Oct. 1, 1960.

National Research Council.—1960. May 3, Dr. Pierre-R. Gendron, Dean of the Faculty of Pure and Applied Science, University of Ottawa, Ottawa, Ont.; Dr. Paul-Antoine Giguère, F.R.S.C., Director of the Chemistry Department, Faculty of Science, Laval University, Quebec, Que.; Dr. P. Lorrain, Head, Department of Physics, Faculty of Science, University of Montreal, Montreal,; L.H.J. Shebeski, Professor of Plant Science, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, Man.; Dr. J. H. Shipley, Vice-President and Director, Research and Development, Canadian Industries Limited, Montreal, Que.; and Dr. F. J. Toole, Head of the Department of Chemistry and Dean of the School of Graduate Studies, University of New Brunswick, Fredericton, N.B.: to be members.

Northern Canada Power Commission.—1960. Feb. 11, Joseph Frederick Parkinson, Economic Adviser, Office of the Deputy Minister of Finance: to be a member.

Northern Ontario Pipe Line Crown Corporation.—1959. Dec. 4, Gerald W. Green, Department of Trade and Commerce, Ottawa: to be a Director.

Restrictive Trade Practices Commission.—1959. Nov. 27, Pierre Carignan, Q.C., Montreal, Que.: to be a member from Feb. 15, 1960 or such earlier date as he may be able to assume the duties of such office.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police.—1960. Feb. 23, Deputy Commissioner Clifford Walter Harvison: to be Commissioner, effective Apr. 1, 1960.

Royal Commission on Transportation.—1959. Dec. 22, Murdoch Alexander MacPherson, Q.C.: to be Chairman, vice Hon. Charles P. McTague.

St. Lawrence Seaway Authority.—1959. Sept. 23, Bennett J. Roberts: to be President for a term of one year from Aug. 1, 1959. 1960. June 7, Robert James Rankin, Ottawa, Ont.: to be President for a term of five years from Aug. 1, 1960. Sept. 20, Pierre Camu, Quebec, Que.: to be a member from Oct. 15, 1960, vice J. C. Lessard.

Unemployment Insurance Commission.—1960. Apr. 26, Laval Fortier, Deputy Minister of Citizenship and Immigration: to be Chief Commissioner and Chief Executive Officer of the Commission.

War Veterans Allowance Board.—1960. June 17, J.-E.-Roger Roberge, Lévis, Que.: to be a member from July 1, 1960. Sept. 28, William Taylor Cromb, Winnipeg, Man.: to be a member and chairman from Oct. 15, 1960.

PART IV.—FEDERAL LEGISLATION, 1960

This classified list of federal legislation has been compiled from the Statutes. Naturally in summarizing material of this kind it is not always possible to convey the full implication of the legislation. The reader who is interested in any specific Act is therefore referred to the Statutes of Canada in the given volume and chapter.